Local Grant Program

The California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) developed the Clean California Local Grant Program through which funds will go to local communities to beautify and improve local streets and roads, tribal lands, parks, pathways, and transit centers. Through the combination of adding beautification measures and art in public spaces along with the removal of litter and debris, this effort will enhance communities and improve spaces for walking and recreation.

The goals of the Clean CA Local Grant Program are to:

  • Reduce the amount of waste and debris within public rights-of-way, pathways, parks, transit centers, and other public spaces.
  • Enhance, rehabilitate, restore, or install measures to beautify and improve public spaces and mitigate the urban heat island effect.
  • Enhance public health, cultural connection, and community placemaking by improving public spaces for walking and recreation.
  • Advance equity for underserved communities.

Important: The Clean California Local Grant program does not provide funding for upgrades or improvements to residential properties.

Clean California - Del Rio Trail Project Groundbreaking

Clean California – Rio Dell Eel River Trail & Gateway Project Video

Cycle 2

We are excited to announce that there will be a Cycle 2 of the program that will provide approximately $100 million in grant funding to local communities. Our first stakeholder workshop on Cycle 2 and updates to the program guidelines was held on November 3, 2022. A recording of that workshop is posted in the below table. Our second stakeholder workshop was on December 13, 2022. The recording and slides for this workshop are posted in the below table. The latest draft program guidelines and FAQs are posted below. We will be updating these documents again before the Call for Projects in January 2023 (date still TBD). No action is needed from applicants on the Call for Projects, that is just the day that the final guidelines and application materials will be published. Applications will be due in April 2023 (date still TBD). Please continue to check back here for the latest information on the program.

Draft Program Guidelines for Cycle 2 12/08/2022 (PDF)

FAQs for Cycle 2 1/9/2023 (PDF)

Grant Program Milestones

The following is the projected draft timeline for Cycle 2 of the Clean California Local Grant Program.

Milestone Date
First Workshop on Program Guideline Updates November 3, 2022
Watch First Workshop on Youtube
View First Workshop Slideshow (PDF)
Correction: Agencies that were awarded in Cycle 1 are just as competitive in Cycle 2.
Second Workshop on Program Guideline Updates Watch Second Workshop on Youtube
View Second Workshop Slideshow (PDF) 
Call for Projects January 2023
Three Application Workshops January through March 2023
Project Application Deadline April 2023
Project Award Notification August/September 2023
Project Completion Date June 2026

Cycle 1

District Contacts

District Name Email
District 1 - Eureka Preston Allen Preston.Allen@dot.ca.gov
District 2 - Redding Nicole Fortner Nicole.Fortner@dot.ca.gov
District 3 - Marysville / Sacramento Cynthia Shipley cynthia.shipley@dot.ca.gov
District 4 - Bay Area / Oakland Linda Phoen Linda.Phoen@dot.ca.gov
District 5 - San Luis Obispo / Santa Barbara Zachary Cotter Zachary.cotter@dot.ca.gov
District 6 - Fresno / Bakersfield Neethi Kattherisetty Neethi.Kattherisetty@dot.ca.gov
District 7 - Los Angeles Tammi Altamirano Tammi.Altamirano@dot.ca.gov
District 8 - San Bernardino / Riverside Brandy Ybarra Brandy.Ybarra@dot.ca.gov
District 9 - Bishop Mark A. Heckman Mark.Heckman@dot.ca.gov
District 10 - Stockton Sardar Khan Sardar.Khan@dot.ca.gov
District 11 - San Diego Erwin Isidro Erwin.Isidro@dot.ca.gov
District 12 - Orange County Troy Andres Troy.Andres@dot.ca.gov

Stay Informed

Sign up to be added to the Clean California Local Grant Program Mailing List.

For more information, please contact: CleanCA.LocalGrant@dot.ca.gov.